An old but relevant post

uchehokafor's Blog

Several weeks ago, I got into a thought-provoking discussion with a Lebanese man whom I had come across in my line of duty. During our conversation, he told me about how he had stayed in Nigeria for quite a long time, twenty four years to be precise, and how he actually felt like a Nigerian. And then he said sometime. In his words, ‘’one bad thing about Nigerians is that you people like to spend money on burial ceremonies than on treatment’’. I sat back and thought deeply about what he had just said.

He made a point; a very valid point. It is common to see people die in hospitals simply because they couldn’t afford the cost of treatment either in terms of purchasing drugs or doing laboratory investigations. Such drugs and results of laboratory investigations could have gone a long way in affecting the outcome of the disease…

View original post 943 more words

